Gov. Christie Issues Order Requiring NJ Municipalities to Accept 2018 Tax Prepayments

Gov. Christie Issues Order Requiring NJ Municipalities to Accept 2018 Tax Prepayments

On December 27, 2017, Governor Christie issued Executive Order 237 mandating New Jersey municipalities accept pre-payment of 2018 local property taxes in 2017. The Order requires that the payment must be postmarked on or before December 31, 2017 in order to be credited as a 2017 local property tax payment.

You should consult with your tax professional to discuss the impact of the December 22, 2017 federal Tax Cuts and Job Act which amended the federal Internal Revenue Code.

To view Executive Order 237, click here.

The Internal Revenue Service has issued further guidance on the issue, click here.

This is not legal or tax advice, and is for informational purposes only. If you have specific questions regarding a particular matter, please do not hesitate to contact one of our Government Services attorneys: Thomas Ryan, Esq. (tryan@lcrlaw.com); Angelo Bolcato, Esq. (abolcato@lcrlaw.com); Thomas Prol, Esq. (tprol@lcrlaw.com); Ursula Leo, Esq. (uleo@lcrlaw.com); Jessica Jansyn, Esq. (jjansyn@lcrlaw.com); William Thayer, Esq. (wthayer@lcrlaw.com) or Michael Darbee, Esq. (mdarbee@lcrlaw.com). Our attorneys can also be reached by phone at (973) 729-1880.